Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of

The Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): May 11, 2011



Philip Morris International Inc.

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




Virginia   1-33708   13-3435103

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)



File Number)


(I.R.S. Employer

Identification No.)

120 Park Avenue, New York, New York   10017-5592
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (917) 663-2000


(Former name or former address, if changed since last report.)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

On May 11, 2011, the Company held its Annual Meeting of Stockholders (“Annual Meeting”). There were 1,515,167,063 shares of Common Stock, constituting 84.63% of outstanding shares on the record date (March 15, 2011), represented in person or by proxy at the meeting. The matters voted upon at the Annual Meeting and the results of such voting are set forth below:

Proposal 1: To elect ten directors of the Company.



   For      Against      Abstain      Broker Non-Vote  
Harold Brown      1,246,837,882         7,765,179         1,738,390         258,825,612   
Mathis Cabiallavetta      1,248,478,400         6,035,873         1,827,178         258,825,612   
Louis C. Camilleri      1,243,278,633         11,497,406         1,565,412         258,825,612   
J. Dudley Fishburn      1,247,192,990         7,382,850         1,752,391         258,825,612   
Jennifer Li      1,249,754,792         4,790,257         1,782,881         258,825,612   
Graham Mackay      1,239,622,554         14,977,739         1,727,637         258,825,612   
Sergio Marchionne      958,000,366         296,302,951         2,037,485         258,825,612   
Lucio A. Noto      1,247,010,217         7,625,450         1,705,135         258,825,612   
Carlos Slim Helú      1,238,198,005         16,347,021         1,795,957         258,825,612   
Stephen M. Wolf      1,246,049,008         8,576,843         1,715,599         258,825,612   

All director nominees were duly elected.

Proposal 2: Ratification of the Selection of PricewaterhouseCoopers SA as Independent Auditors.


      For      Against      Abstain      Broker Non-Vote  
     1,506,151,219         5,162,284         3,853,560         —     

The proposal was approved.

Proposal 3: Advisory Vote to Approve Executive Compensation.


      For      Against      Abstain      Broker Non-Vote  
     1,014,905,257         236,876,207         4,559,987         258,825,612   

The proposal was approved on an advisory basis.

Proposal 4: Advisory Vote on the Frequency of Future Advisory Votes on Executive Compensation.



One Year


Two Years


Three Years




Broker Non-Vote

  1,151,158,719    5,670,027    95,800,781    3,709,006    258,825,612

A frequency of one year was recommended by stockholders on an advisory basis.

In light of these results and consistent with a majority of stockholder votes cast with respect to this proposal, the Company’s Board of Directors determined that an advisory vote on the compensation of the Company’s named executive officers will be conducted every year.

Proposal 5: Stockholder Proposal 1 - Food Insecurity and Tobacco Use.









Broker Non-Vote

     38,883,135         980,610,510         236,841,514         258,825,612   

The proposal was defeated.

Proposal 6: Stockholder Proposal 2 - Independent Board Chair.









Broker Non-Vote

     289,311,398         963,195,731         3,826,871         258,825,612   

The proposal was defeated.

Item 8.01     Other Events.

On May 11, 2011, the Company’s Board of Directors amended and restated the Philip Morris International Inc. 2008 Stock Compensation Plan for Non-Employee Directors (as so amended and restated effective May 11, 2011, the “Plan”). Previously, each non-employee director received an annual share award having an aggregate fair market value of $140,000. As amended and restated, the Plan provides that the value of the annual share award will be increased to $160,000. The Plan is filed as Exhibit 10.1 to this Current Report on Form 8-K and is incorporated herein by reference.

Item 9.01     Financial Statements and Exhibits.

(d) Exhibits


10.1    Philip Morris International Inc. 2008 Stock Compensation Plan for Non-Employee Directors (amended and restated as of May 11, 2011)


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.




Name:   Jerry Whitson

Deputy General Counsel and

Corporate Secretary

DATE: May 12, 2011


Exhibit No.



10.1    Philip Morris International Inc. 2008 Stock Compensation Plan for Non-Employee Directors (amended and restated as of May 11, 2011)